Saturday, April 20, 2019 -
Print Edition

Shiva: What it means, how to act

, the Hebrew word for seven, connotes the seven days Jews traditionally mourn for and honor a loved one who has died. The Biblical source of the ritual originated in Genesis 50:1-14, where Joseph grieves the death of his father Jacob for one week. Two essential mitzvot from Torah must be fulfilled: kibbud ha-met, honoring […]
This article is premium content. Subscribe now or log in if you’re a subscriber. One day access also available for $1.80.

Andrea Jacobs

IJN Senior Writer |

Leave a Reply